History organization

Kevin Durant, James Harden and Nets Greats among selections for NBA 75th Anniversary team

To celebrate the 75th NBA season in 2021-2022, the league recognizes a 75th anniversary team of the 75 best players in NBA history. From current members of the organization to great pasts, the Nets are strongly represented on the list.

“It means a lot,” said Kevin Durant. “It means everything to be honest. You want to leave your mark in this league on basketball itself. To be among the greatest this game has ever seen, to be in the same company is kinda nice. saw the 50th anniversary and always dreamed of having one of these jackets and being among this group and being in this fraternity, so it feels good to be a part of it now.

James Harden has joined Durant on the roster, the pair being part of the first 25-man squad announced by the league on Tuesday night.

“Wow. Where I’m from, man, even just being in the NBA was like a far-fetched dream,” Harden said. “To be an NBA basketball player was unheard of. And then not only to do it, but to maintain it was a different type of mountain that you have to climb. And then being one of the best basketball players is a completely different mountain. It’s just a testament to the work I did and continue to do until I can’t play anymore. Obviously, I didn’t reach the ultimate goal, which is a championship, but that’s what keeps me working and going hard every single day. That’s the end goal. When I get to that point, the work doesn’t stop. I will continue to work and keep striving until I am no longer able to play this game. This game has given me so much, just the people I have interacted with and touched and the families that I’ve helped. It’s a beautiful thing. So I’m just blessed to be on this list, and it doesn’t stop. “

In addition to the players whose career highlights are summarized below, former Nets Rick Barry, Nate Archibald, Bob McAdoo, Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce have been selected for the squad.>


CAREER: 27.0 PPG, 7.1 RPG, 4.2 APG

Kevin Durant has carved out his own slice of NBA history – there’s just never been another player like him. With guarding skills and a 6-10 frame, Durant is one of the most feared and effective scorers the NBA has ever seen. He’s never averaged less than 20 points per game and his career-scoring average of 27.0 is fifth all-time and No. 1 among active players. The No. 2 overall pick in 2007, Durant was a third-year All-NBA first-team selection, when he dominated the league scoring for the first time with 30.1 points per game. It was the first of four milestone titles, including a career-high 32.0 points per game in his 2013-14 NBA MVP season. Over 13 seasons, Durant won 11 All-Star Game caps, nine All-NBA accolades, two NBA Finals MVP awards and was 2007-08 Rookie of the Year.


CAREER: 25.1 RPG, 6.5 RPG, 5.5 RPG

James Harden has established himself as one of the unique offensive talents in NBA history. He is one of seven players to lead the league in scoring and assists and with career averages of 25.1 points and 6.5 assists, one of five to average those two. rate for his career. Nine-time All-Star and seven-time All-NBA, Harden was the 2011-12 Sixth Man of the Year and 2017-18 MVP. His career scoring average is 11th in NBA history and third among active players. Harden has three scoring titles and a league-leading season in assists. His league-leading 36.1 points per game in 2018-19 is the seventh-highest single-season scoring average in NBA history – only Wilt Chamberlain and Michael Jordan have ever averaged more. He is fifth in NBA history with 2,445 3-pointers and eighth with 58 career triple-doubles.

STEVE NASH • 1996-2014

CAREER: 14.3 PPG, 8.5 APG, 42.8 3PT%

With a mid-career jump, Steve Nash heralded a change in the way the NBA game was played. Already a two-time star in his six seasons in Dallas, Nash returned to the team that drafted him, the Phoenix Suns, for the 2004-05 season. Supporting Phoenix’s relentless, wide-open offensive attack “Seven Seconds or Less”, Nash has won back-to-back MVP awards and led the league in assists for three consecutive seasons and five of the next seven. Nash has won eight All-Star Game selections and seven All-NBA honors. One of the great shooters in NBA history, Nash posted career shooting spreads of 49.0 / 42.8 / 90.4 and, in 2006-07, led the NBA with a goal percentage on the effective pitch of 0.613, an incredibly rare achievement for a goalkeeper. Inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018, he is third in NBA history with 10,335 assists.

JASON KIDD • 1994-2013

CAREER: 12.6 RPG, 8.7 RPG, 6.3 RPG

Jason Kidd transformed the Nets franchise when he arrived before the 2001-02 season. With a relentless will to win, genius creativity and unparalleled attack management, Kidd led the Nets to back-to-back NBA Finals appearances in 2002 and 2003. They went on to win four division titles in five. seasons and have made six consecutive playoff appearances. . 10-time All-Star, Kidd won three of his six All-NBA honors while with the Nets. He was also named to nine defensive all-star teams and was 1994-95 Rookie of the Year. Kidd remains the franchise leader in assists, steals, 3 points and triple doubles. He is fourth in NBA history with 107 triple-doubles and second all-time with 12,091 assists. Kidd was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018.

JULES ERVING • 1971-1987

CAREER: 24.2 PPG, 8.5 RPG, 50.6% FG

A transformational player in professional basketball history, Julius Erving carried the Nets to the top of the ABA as the league’s iconic player, then brought his greatness to the NBA for a decade after the 1976 merger between the leagues. While with the Nets, Erving won three consecutive ABA MVPs while leading the team to two championships, and he was an All-Star and All-ABA selection each of his five seasons in the league. Erving has been an All-Star in each of his 11 NBA seasons and was named the game’s MVP twice, in 1977 and 1983. He was named to seven All-NBA teams and was league MVP in 1980-81 . Erving’s 30,026 points in the ABA and NBA combined are the eighth in professional basketball history and he was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1993.

Rodney N.

The author Rodney N.